Littrell, Haynes retain seats in Carroll

Last updated: November 05. 2013 9:55PM - 3468 Views

Dr. Tom Littrell
Dr. Tom Littrell
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
Election Day 2013 turned out to be a good day for incumbents in Carroll County.
In the only contested race for the Carroll County Board of Supervisors, Republican incumbent Thomas W. Littrell defeated Independent challenger Robert L. “Robbie” McCraw unofficially by a count of 899-662. The only other contested race in Carroll County also went to incumbent Joey D. Haynes, who unofficially defeated challenger Phillip Berrier 723-659 in the Fancy Gap District race for the Carroll County School Board.
Election Day was not as kind to local Democrat Jonathan McGrady, who was vying for the 6th District House of Delegates seat vacated by Annie B. Crockett-Stark. Republican Jeffery L. Campbell unofficially won the election with 57 percent of the vote, garnering 11,574 votes to McGrady’s 7,427. Independent candidate Barbara T. Hall collected 1,288 votes.
Campbell took all three counties in the district, including McGrady’s home county of Carroll with 4,176 votes to McGrady’s 3,427. Hall had 286 votes in Carroll. Campbell won Smyth by a 2,630-1,579 count over McGrady, with Hall gaining 510 votes, and Campbell took Wythe County 4,768-2,418 over McGrady, with Hall taking 492 votes.
In uncontested races in Carroll County, incumbent Republican Phil D. McCraw picked up 1,198 votes in the Fancy Gap District race for the Board of Supervisors, while incumbent Republican Joshua Hendrick earned 1,496 votes in the Laurel Fork District race for Carroll’s Board of Supervisors.
In Carroll County School Board races, Sanford G. “Sandy” Hendrick retained his seat in the Laurel Fork District with 1,468 votes, while Brian E. Spencer will continue to represent the Pipers Gap District as he notched 1,327 votes.
In the Pipers Gap District Supervisors’ race, Littrell carried four of five precincts, winning Woodlawn D by a count of 342-314 over McCraw. Littrell won Oakland D by a total of 210-158, Oakland A by a vote of 245-106, and Woodlawn F 72-47. McCraw won the Central Absentee vote 37-30.
The Fancy Gap District School Board race was extremely tight - so tight that Berrier actually carried three of the five precincts. Berrier won the St. Paul (235-198) and Lambsburg (187-75) precincts, and took the write-in vote by a 26-24 count. Haynes made up ground by winning Mt. Bethel by a count of 171-95 and Fancy Gap by a vote of 255-116.
Democrats had a big day in the statewide races with Democrat Terry McAuliffe taking a narrow victory over Republican Ken Cuccinelli. McAuliffe took 47.74 percent of the vote to 45.28 percent for Cuccinelli. Libertarian candidate Robert C. Sarvis definitely made a difference statewide as his 145,418 votes were almost triple the difference of about 55,000 votes between McAuliffe and Cuccinelli.
The race for Lt. Governor was not quite as close, with Democrat Ralph S. Northam taking 55.13 percent of the vote to 44.50 percent for Republican candidate E.W. Jackson.
A recount is expected in the race for Attorney General as less than one-one hundredth of a percent separated Republican Mark D. Obenshain and Democrat Mark Herring. With all precincts in, the Virginia State Board of Elections had Obenshain winning the race by 219 votes out of almost 2.2 million cast.
While Virginia continues to trend to Democrats, Carroll County remained a heavy Republican county. In the Governor’s race, Cuccinelli more than doubled his Democratic competition in Carroll County with 5,060 votes to McAuliffe’s 2,182 votes. Sarvis collected 603 votes in Carroll and there were 31 write-ins.
In the Lt. Governor’s race, the results were much the same with Jackson, the Republican, claiming 4,884 votes in Carroll County to 2,757 for Northam. The Attorney General race also went easily to Republicans in Carroll County with Obenshain more than doubling Herring by a count of 5,465-2,240.
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Hillsville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com